Team List Tuesday – Rabbitohs v Broncos

Watch our team analysis on Rabbitohs TV.
Souths fullback Blake Taaffe (pictured) has kicked 19 goals from 22 attempts in 2022.

In Thursday nights blockbuster the Bunnies will battle the Broncos for the 2nd time this season.

Rabbitohs v Broncos Thursday 5th May 7.50pm Accor Stadium, Sydney.

Souths will be looking to even the score after they went down in round 1 at Suncorp and the Rabbitohs fans will have their first opportunity to see Adam Reynolds playing for the opposition.

Adam Reynolds try ANZ Stadium in 2012.

The return of Reyno to face rookie number seven Lachan Ilias will be a matchup worth the price of admission on its own but with the Broncos coming off a big win over the high flying Sharks, coach Jason Demetriou will no doubt make sure the team is aware that this will be a tough assignment across the park.

“It’s been good to watch him. He’s a kid with a big future, he’s slotted in there nicely. Reyno on Lachy Ilias.

The Rabbitohs will need to dominate in the middle and that job just became slightly more achievable with news today Payne Hass (shoulder) and Kurt Capewell have been ruled out. Hass had a huge game in that round 1 win running the ball 23 times for 187 metres and 82 post contact metres, the most from anyone on the field.

📸 League Unlimited

Offsetting the loss of Hass is the return of Patrick Carrigan who also had a big game at lock against us in round 1.

Tom Burgess ANZ Stadium 2014.

Out wide the tip sheet will no doubt cover Blues Origin centre hopeful Kotoni Staggs and surely highlight the fact that the in form Corey Oates rarely has a bad game against the Rabbits. In round 1 Oates scored a try in the Broncos 11-4 win and last week he ran for 213 metres against top 4 side Cronulla.

Rookies Taaffe & Ilias will play key roles in the spine on Thursday.

An 80% completion rate against Manly was a pleasing aspect of last weeks win and the team will need to produce a repeat dose of at least that number on Thursday night.

Rehab report.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their NRL squad for round nine against the Brisbane Broncos at Accor Stadium to be played this Thursday 5 May at 7:50pm.

Rabbitohs Head Coach Jason Demetriou has named the same starting side that defeated the Sea Eagles last Friday night. On the bench Hame Sele makes his return pushing Davvy Moale out of the 17 and Liam Knight comes in for Shaquai Mitchell.

Prior to the NRL fixture, the Rabbitohs will be conducting a footy clinic on the turf at Accor Stadium. To book in your little Rabbitoh for the footy clinic, click here.

The Rabbitohs NSW Cup, Jersey Flegg Cup and Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership teams will play home games at the Ironmark High Performance Centre at Redfern Oval on Saturday 7 May, all against the Newcastle Knights. NSW Cup is scheduled to kick off at 3pm, the under 21s Jersey Flegg Cup clash at 1pm and the womens game is set for an 11:30am kick off.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ NRL squad for this round nine clash with the Broncos is:
1) Blake Taaffe
2) Alex Johnston
3) Isaiah Tass
4) Campbell Graham
5) Josh Mansour
6) Cody Walker
7) Lachlan Ilias
8) Junior Tatola
9) Damien Cook
10) Thomas Burgess
11) Keaon Koloamatangi
12) Jai Arrow
13) Cameron Murray (c)
14) Siliva Havili
15) Hame Sele
16) Liam Knight
17) Jaxson Paulo
18) Trent Peoples
19) Taane Milne
20) Richie Kennar
21) Peter Mamouzelos
22) Dean Hawkins
23) Josiah Karapani
24) Davvy Moale
Head Coach – Jason Demetriou

“Where are you from & what was it like growing up there?”

The Rabbitohs’ NSW Cup squad for round nine against the Knights is:
1) Jacob Gagai
2) Josiah Karapani
3) Taane Milne
4) Richie Kennar
5) Izaac Thompson
6) Jack Campagnolo
7) Dean Hawkins
8) Davvy Moale
9) Peter Mamouzelos
10) Shaquai Mitchell
11) Trent Peoples
12) Maila Chanfoon
13) James Hasson (c)
14) Shannon Gardiner
15) Hugo Patterson
16) Tyson Hodge
17) Yileen Gordon
18) D’Arcy Hardman
19) Jake Tago
20) Nic Mougios
Coach – Dane Dorahy

Our chat last year with Adam Reynolds.

The Rabbitohs Jersey Flegg Cup squad for Saturday’s game against Newcastle is:
1) Chaise Robinson
2) Tyrone Munro
3) Ryan Garner
4) Leon Te Hau
5) Carson Kaho
6) Dion Teaupa
7) Joseph Nohra
8) Thomas Giles
9) Romano Cook (c)
10) Isaiah Vailalo
11) Byron Parnell
12) Louis Grossemy
13) Tallis Duncan
14) Joshua Rizk
15) Cruise Tweedie
16) Trent Griffiths
17) Jacob Karam
18) Marco Moretti
19) Oscar Mezzomo
Coach – Leon Latulipe

Watch or listen on Spotify.
Lachy Ilias & Pete Mamouzelos

The Rabbitohs Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership squad for Saturday’s game against the Knights is:
1) Terrie Ann Kelly
2) Brittany Constable 3) Monique Donovan
4) Patricia Raikadroka
5) Stacey Markham
6) Akira Kelly
7) Te Aroha Hapuku
8) Christine Pauli
9) Shirley Mailangi
10) Ellie Johnston
11) Rysh’e Fa’amausili
12) Shannon Muru
13) Sharna Piccinelli (c)
14) Charlotte Booth
15) Moniqca Moale
16) Seneti Kilisimasi
17) Loretta Mailangi
18) Tayla Kafoa
19) Cindy Whiteley
Coach – Shane Sultana

All new Cookies & Cream / Rum & Raisin blocks.
Watch on Rabbitohs TV.

By Steve Mavin