Team List Tuesday – Rabbitohs v Wests Tigers

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their NRL squad for Indigenous Round 12 against the Wests Tigers at Accor Stadium to be played this Saturday 28 May at 5:30pm.

Watch on Rabbitohs TV.

Rabbitohs Head Coach Jason Demetriou has named Mark Nicholls to return from injury on the interchange bench. Cameron Murray and try scoring pathways winger Izaac Thompson been included on the extended bench.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs 2022 Indigenous Jersey honours our matriarchs – our mothers and all women. The jersey was designed by Uncle Joe Walker, a proud Wahlabul man, who is designing the Rabbitohs Indigenous jersey for the fifth time in 2022.

Our Indigenous Round Logo.

Depicted on the jersey is the birthing tree which symbolizes our matriarchs and acknowledges that everything comes from Mother Earth. The players’ totems are featured at the trunk of the tree which symbolizes that everyone is part of the foundation of our communities and that everyone has a role to play in helping the tree to flourish. The totems representing the players are:

• Goanna – Cody Walker (Yuin and Bundjalung) and Latrell and Shaquai Mitchell (Wiradjuri – maternal totem)
• Shark – Latrell and Shaquai Mitchell (Biripi – paternal totem)
• Crocodile – Alex Johnston (Saibai Island)
• Black-tailed Kangaroo – Isaiah Tass (Yuwi)
• Whale – Blake Taaffe (Bidjigal)

Rabbitohs 2022 Indigenous Jersey.

The red colour on the jersey represents the blood in our veins and red earth we live on and the green represents the natural beauties of our land. The red and green also represents the Rabbitohs and their connection to people right across our countries. The river represents our song lines and individual journeys as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people. The circles represent our people coming together as one. Many Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander clan groups come together to yarn and share in support of the Rabbitohs. In addition, the Aboriginal and the Torres Strait Islander flags highlight the sleeves of the jersey.

The Rabbitohs 2022 Indigenous Jersey.

The jersey says we are all part of the Rabbitohs family. We all become one.
Round 12 will also be Damien Cook’s 150th NRL game in South Sydney colours. Cook debuted for the Rabbitohs in round one, 2016. He has played 158 NRL games during his career with the Rabbitohs, Bulldogs and Dragons.

The curtain raiser to the NRL fixture will be South Sydney Juniors district A-grade match between two clubs with long-standing ties to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community in the South Sydney region. The Redfern All Blacks (Gadigal) and La Perouse Panthers (Bidjigal) will kick off at 3:15pm, showcasing some of the best local talent in the South Sydney area.

Gates at Accor Stadium will open at 3pm on Saturday. Pre-match entertainment at Accor Stadium will include a Welcome to Country from Aboriginal Elder Uncle Allan Madden, didgeridoo performances on field and around the concourse from proud Wabanja Gunai and Dunghutti man, Brock Tutt, and proud Gamilaroi man Kaleb Taylor including a rendition of Glory, Glory to South Sydney at run out, and dance performances from The Glen, The Glen for Women and Brolga Dance Academy.

Aboriginal airbrush tattooists and totem colouring-in stations which also be features for kids around the concourse. La Perouse Panthers and Redfern All Blacks will also take to the field for the Mini League matches at half time of the NRL fixture, accompanied by a singing performance from proud Wiradjuri woman, Millie Mills.

Rabbitohs V St George-Illawarra Dragons Charity Shield Rugby League match at ANZ Stadium. 27th February 2010. Digital Image by Robb Cox.

The Rabbitohs match day partner for Indigenous Round is 13YARN, the first and only national Indigenous-led crisis helpline, run with the support of Lifeline. The Rabbitohs are one of 13YARN’s first partnerships in Australian sport. If you, or someone you know are feeling worried or no good, we encourage you to connect with 13YARN (139276) and talk with an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The Rabbitohs NSW Cup team will take on the North Sydney Bears at North Sydney Oval on Sunday 29 May at 2pm, with the Rabbitohs Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership side playing at 12pm at the same venue on Sunday. The under 21s Jersey Flegg Cup team will play the Sydney Roosters on Sunday 29 May at 3pm at Waverley Oval.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ NRL squad for Saturday’s Indigenous Round 12 clash with the Tigers is:
1) Blake Taaffe
2) Alex Johnston
3) Jaxson Paulo
4) Campbell Graham
5) Taane Milne
6) Cody Walker (c)
7) Lachlan Ilias
8) Junior Tatola
9) Damien Cook
10) Thomas Burgess
11) Keaon Koloamatangi
12) Jai Arrow
13) Hame Sele
14) Liam Knight
15) Mark Nicholls
16) Siliva Havili
17) Kodi Nikorima
18) Josh Mansour
19) Isaiah Tass
20) Trent Peoples
21) Shaquai Mitchell
22) Dean Hawkins
23) Izaac Thompson
24) Cameron Murray
Head Coach – Jason Demetriou

Browny in the Rabbitohs TV studio today.

The Rabbitohs NSW Cup squad for Sunday’s match up with the Bears is:
1) Jacob Gagai
2) Josh Mansour
3) Isaiah Tass
4) Jake Tago
5) Izaac Thompson
6) Jack Campagnolo
7) Dean Hawkins
8) Davvy Moale
9) Peter Mamouzelos
10) Shaquai Mitchell
11) James Hasson (c)
12) Maila Chanfoon
13) Hugo PattersonInterchange:
14) Shannon Gardiner
15) Yileen Gordon
16) D’Arcy Hardman
17) Tyson Hodge
18) Nic Mougios
19) Tallis Angianga
Coach – Dane Dorahy

Watch on Rabbitohs TV.

The Rabbitohs Jersey Flegg Cup squad for Sunday’s game against the Roosters is:
1) Terrell Kalo Kalo
2) Carson Kaho
3) Leon Te Hau
4) Ryan Garner
5) Jake Tobin
6) Dion Teaupa
7) Keahlan Bray
8) Thomas Giles (c)
9) Romano Cook
10) Isaiah Vailalo
11) Ben Lovett
12) Louis Grossemy
13) Tallis Duncan
14) Oscar Mezzomo
15) Ben Campagnolo
16) Trent Griffiths
17) Lachlan Gale
18) Marco Moretti
19) Wesley Bruines
Coach – Leon Latulipe

Watch or listen on Spotify.

The Rabbitohs Women’s team for Sunday’s clash with North Sydney is:
1) Terrie Ann Kelly
2) Brittany Constable
3) Monique Donovan
4) Patricia Raikadroka
5) Stacey Markham
6) Akira Kelly
7) Te Aroha Hapuku
8) Christine Pauli
9) Shirley Mailangi
10) Ellie Johnston
11) Tayla Kafoa
12) Shannon Muru
13) Sharna Piccinelli (c)
14) Therese Aiton
15) Moniqca Moale 16) Charlotte Booth
17) Loretta Mailangi
18) Cindy Whiteley
19) Rikka Lamb
20) Nikki Perugini
21) Rachael Pearson
Coach – Shane Sultana

Off Plan in Botany with NGFarah – Contact Joe Recep 0438 600 999

The Redfern All Blacks team for Saturday’s curtain raiser at Accor Stadium is:
1) O Shea Tyman
2) Russell Nelson
3) Craig McKenzie
4) Maile Haumono
5) Blake Robert
6) Darcey Moran
7) Malcolm Green
8) Ian Nelson
9) Dean Widders Jr
10) Luciano Svagelli
11) Thomas Johnson
12) Elijah Roberts-Smyth
13) Ezekiel Phillips
14) Lochlan Peter-Donahue
15) Ulysses Roberts
16) Dennis Moran
17) Reece Townsend
18) Sebastian Edwards
Coach – Paul Davis

The La Perouse Panthers team for Saturday’s game at Accor Stadium is:
1) TJ Speedy-Coe
2) Kazeious Tahere
3) Evan manning
4) Jamie Ingram
5) Cody Pittman-King
6) Izaac Chapman
7) William Last
8) Alan Horsfield
9) Tamati Reihana
10) Mark Thorne
11) Kayde King
12) Quintin Silver
13) Che Hyslop
14) Brandon Delamont
15) Andrew Pellegrini
16) Bradley Russell-Davison
17) Brayden Irons
18) Alan Daly

Coach – Rob Longbottom

By Steve Mavin