Team List Tuesday – Rabbitohs v Storm Triple Header – Cam & Cookie Are Back

Cookie is back!

The South Sydney Rabbitohs take on the Melbourne Storm 7.35pm this Saturday the 23rd July at Accor Stadium in a triple header that will see the Jersey Flegg and NSW Cup play before the first grade.

Coach JD has named both Cameron Murray and Damien Cook to start. Jed Cartwright will play in the centres with Taane Milne left out of the squad.

Young star Davvy Moale has retained his spot in the 17 with Daniel Suluka-Fifita dropping to 18th man.

The Storm defeated the Rabbitohs 14-6 the first time the two teams met in 1998 and since then the Victorian juggernaut has dominated our club for 24 years with a 31-5 (86.11%) win record.

The last time Souths managed to defeat the men in purple was in 2018 at Accor Stadium and on the present form of both teams the Bunnies are a real chance of notching win number 6.

The Storm have lost 3 games in a row and adding to their misery was the season ending loss of star fullback Ryan Papenhuyzen to a knee injury last week against the Raiders.

The Rabbitohs on the other hand have won their last 3 games and have improved to another level thanks to the return from injury of our immensely talented fullback Latrell Mitchell.

So while I believe it’s time to get one back on our southern nemesis, the Storm coached by Craig Bellamy and led by match winners like Cameron Munster and Harry Grant will still offer a monumental challenge.

Southern dominance – Alex Johnston celebrates his 2nd try but the Rabbitohs go down 27-14 to the Storm at ANZ Stadium on Friday the 16th of May 2014. Digital Image by Robb Cox

The Rabbitohs need to bring all the good elements of the previous 3 wins and rise to that next level.

A disciplined 80 minute performance is a must, a great start, a huge emphasis on defence, good completion and low error rate. If Souths can do this then play the explosive exciting footy we all love to see then the sky (and the Storm) is the limit.

Round 19 is the Rabbitohs’ Junior Appreciation Round, celebrating the future Rabbitohs playing and enjoying Rugby League in the South Sydney district. Our juniors MCs will host the day, highlighting the over 400 junior players taking part in the junior club march past and junior club relay in the pre-game entertainment.

Darrell Lea Dark Chocolate – Rich & Full Bodied

The Rabbitohs’ Kidzone will be buzzing on Saturday with kids able to collect their Reggie Rabbit Match Day Passport, test their passing skills at the Reggie Rabbit Pass-the-Ball board, make a poster or write a letter to their favourite Rabbitohs player, take part in a free indoor footy skills clinic and have fun colouring-in and doing puzzles at the Rabbitohs activity table.

Kids can also head to the concourse to have their face painted and to collect the stamps in their Reggie Rabbit Match Day Passport!

One of Australia’s up-and-coming rap groups, the Sydney Yungins, will be performing on stage at half time, performing two of their hit singles. The Sydney Yungins have over one million views on YouTube and 40 million streams on Spotify for the eight songs in their catalogue.

Saturday night will be a triple-header at Accor Stadium with the 7th placed Rabbitohs NSW Cup team playing 10th placed Mounties at 5:10pm and the last placed Rabbitohs Jersey Flegg Cup team playing the 11th placed Victoria Thunderbolts at 3:30pm. Gates open at 3:15pm.

The 7th placed South Sydney Rabbitohs’ NRL squad for Saturday’s round 19 clash with the 4th placed Storm is:
1) Latrell Mitchell
2) Alex Johnston
3) Jed Cartwright
4) Isaiah Tass
5) Jaxson Paulo
6) Cody Walker
7) Lachlan Ilias
8) Junior Tatola
9) Damien Cook
10) Mark Nicholls
11) Keaon Koloamatangi
12) Jai Arrow
13) Cameron Murray (c)
14) Kodi Nikorima
15) Davvy Moale
16) Siliva Havili
17) Thomas Burgess 18) Daniel Suluka-Fifita 19) Josh Mansour 20) Richie Kennar 21) Ben Lovett 22) Blake Taaffe
Head Coach – Jason Demetriou

Pin up Bunnies. 📸 Trevor Gillis

The Rabbitohs NSW Cup squad for Saturday’s match up with the Mounties is:
1) Blake Taaffe
2) Josh Mansour
3) Jacob Gagai (c)
4) Richie Kennar
5) Izaac Thompson
6) Jack Campagnolo
7) Dean Hawkins
8) Hugo Patterson
9) Shannon Gardiner
10) Shaquai Mitchell
11) Taane Milne
12) Ben Lovett
13) Trent Peoples
14) Romano Cook 15) Yileen Gordon 16) Tallis Duncan 17) D’Arcy Hardman 18) Tyson Hodge
Coach – Dane Dorahy

100% palm oil free.

The Rabbitohs Jersey Flegg Cup squad for Saturday’s game against the Thunderbolts is:
1) Terrell Kalo Kalo
2) Carson Kaho
3) Zane Bijorac
4) Leon Te Hau
5) Tyrone Munro
6) Joseph Nohra
7) Mitchell Chester
8) Thomas Giles (c)
9) Keahlan Bray
10) Isaiah Vailalo
11) Jaxson Rahme
12) Oscar Mezzomo
13) Trent Griffiths
14) Isaac Chapman
15) William Abou-Arrage
16) TJ Toevai
17) Taine Woodford
18) Cruise Tweedie
19) Dranza Hawe-De-Thierry
Coach – Leon Latulipe

By Steve Mavin

Latrell Mitchell Pushing Boundaries Part 1
Latrell Mitchell Pushing Boundaries Part 2